photo302asm_edited.jpg

關於作者

你好!我是 Jenny Ruhl,本網站的作者。我今年 72 歲。我最初是一名軟件開發人員,但自 1980 年代中期以來,我一直在寫書和雜誌專欄,並在幾個繁忙的互聯網論壇上運行和活躍。我還以筆名出版了五本小說,其中一些登上了沃爾瑪的貨架和亞馬遜流派暢銷書排行榜。

我於 1998 年首次被診斷出患有 2 型糖尿病。大約十年前,我的糖尿病的不尋常性質和我極端的胰島素敏感性使我相信我實際上可能患有一種 MODY,這是一種與兩者不同的糖尿病的遺傳形式1 型和 2 型。我最近分析了我的基因。雖然市售的基因檢測不包括對 MODY 基因的檢測,但它確實報告說我攜帶了兩種基因變異,這是我迄今為止所不知道的,導致強烈的胰島素敏感性、第一階段胰島素釋放困難以及終生高於正常水平空腹血糖不是由與 MODY-2 相關的 GCK 基因引起的。其中一個基因也會引起對磺脲類藥物的反應,與 MODY-1 和 -3 患者的反應非常相似。我還有另一個基因,使我難以代謝碳水化合物。

1998 年確診後,我吃了 7 年的低碳水化合物飲食來控制血糖。然後我在進餐時使用速效胰島素,並又增加了 4 年的碳水化合物攝入量。然後我改用 Prandin(瑞格列奈)一年,因為這對我似乎擁有的 MODY 形式來說是一種很好的藥物。由於沒有人能解釋的原因,我的血糖控制在大約 5 年前突然好轉。所以我目前可以單獨控制碳水化合物控制的非生酮飲食。我的 A1c 徘徊在 5.7% 左右。

我為什麼創建這個網站

早在 2004 年,我的體重突然減輕了很多,因為我的血糖惡化了,使用了非常低的碳水化合物飲食。一年來,我還每天鍛煉身體,將我的體脂降低到 24%,這讓我進入了適合我這個年齡女性的“健康”類別。但是不管我的醫生告訴我什麼,這種減肥和健身方案對我的血糖沒有任何作用,血糖變得更糟。

這引起了我的好奇心,我開始跟踪網絡上免費提供的許多關於糖尿病的研究文章。 (唉,他們中的許多人現在都不再免費了,但我很幸運,我在 2004 年就開始了我的研究,當時他們還免費。)

我發現的許多信息與醫生告訴患者糖尿病的原因以及應該如何治療的信息大不相同。

該研究成為該網站的核心。我的目標是回答這些問題:

  • 科學家實際上對 2 型糖尿病了解多少?

  • 為什麼醫生會在人們已經患有糖尿病並發症很久之後才錯過糖尿病診斷?

  • 什麼血糖水平真正足夠低以防止對器官和β細胞的進一步損害?


我了解到大多數醫生遵循的當前實踐建議的來源,以及為什麼它們不足以保護糖尿病患者免受並發症的影響。幸運的是,我還發現了一些非常可靠的信息,說明血糖水平似乎足夠低以防止並發症。

自從發布此信息後,我收到了成千上萬的人的來信,他們發現它很有用。我還寫了一本書,血糖 101:他們沒有告訴你關於糖尿病的內容,它以清晰、有條理的方式提供了分散在本網站周圍的信息。那本書是我在健康領域的暢銷書,目前是第二版(和第三版)。

2017 年,我寫了一本全新的書,它補充了我的暢銷書,並回答了讀者和網站訪問者多年來通過電子郵件向我發送的 200 多個類型的問題。那本書是你的糖尿病問題解答

請在聯繫我之前閱讀此內容

我現在相處多年,我的關節不像以前那樣,所以我必須限制我打字的數量。這意味著我必須對我回复的電子郵件非常有選擇性。因此,在您向我發送請求之前,請閱讀這些指南並尊重它們。

由於我不是您的醫生,因此我無法回答有關您或家人健康狀況的具體問題。我從不評論公司免費發送給我的產品,因此通過電子郵件要求我評論您的產品毫無意義。

在您通過電子郵件向我發送問題之前,請確保使用 Google 站點搜索無法回答該問題,該搜索是通過單擊菜單欄“搜索”選項卡找到的。

我的最新書,   Your Diabetes Questions Answered提供了 200 多個問題的答案,其中包括本網站上未提及的許多問題。請檢查牛逼能的內容,看看你的問題已經回答了那裡。我將不再回复詢問其中列出的任何問題的電子郵件。我需要為新項目節省寫作時間。

另外,請不要讓我轉介給醫生或營養師或幫助您處理與糖尿病相關的訴訟。

我不會在這個網站上投放任何廣告,但有時會為我自己的書投放廣告。所以請不要聯繫我要求我投放您的廣告。

您可以通過此電子郵件與我聯繫: jruhl9999-d12@yahoo.com

BS101-2-cover250.jpg
YDQA-box250.jpg

About the Author

Hi! I'm Jenny Ruhl, the author of this web site. I'm 70 years old. I started out as a software developer, but I have been writing books and magazine columns since the mid 1980s. I have also published five novels under a pen name some of which made their way onto the shelves of Walmart and onto Amazon genre bestseller lists. 

I was first diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes in 1998. Several years ago I discovered that I may actually have a form of MODY which is a genetic form of diabetes different from both Type 1 and Type 2. 

After my diagnosis in 1998, I ate a very low carb diet for 7 years to control my blood sugar. Then I used fast-acting insulin at meals and upped my carb intake for another 4 years. I then switched to Prandin (repaglinide) for a year, as this turns out to be a good drug for the form of MODY I appear to have. For reasons no one can explain, my blood sugar control improved very suddenly about 5 years ago. So I currently can control with a carb-controlled non-ketogenic diet alone. My A1c hovers around 5.7%.  

 

 

Why I Created This Website

Back in 2004, after losing the weight via a very low carb diet I exercised daily for a year and got my body fat down to 24%, which put me into the "Fit" category for a woman my age. But despite what my doctors had told me, this weight loss and fitness regimen didn't do a thing for my blood sugars, which got worse. 

This raised my curiosity and I started tracking through the many research articles about diabetes available for free on the web. (Many of them, now, alas, are no longer free, but I was lucky that I started my research back in 2004 when they were.) 

Much of the information I found differed dramatically from what doctors were telling patients about what caused diabetes and how it should be treated.

That research became the kernel of this web site. My goal was to answer these questions:

 

  • What do scientists actually know about Type 2 diabetes?

 

  • Why do doctors miss diabetes diagnoses until long after people already have diabetic complications?

  • What blood sugar levels are truly low enough to prevent further damage to the organs and beta cells? 


I learned where the current practice recommendations most doctors follow came from and why they are inadequate to protect people with diabetes from complications. Fortunately, I also found some very solid information about what blood sugar levels seem to be low enough to prevent complications. 

Since posting this information, I have heard from literally thousands of people who have found it useful. I have also written a book, Blood Sugar 101: What They Don't Tell You About Diabetes which presents the information you'll find scattered around this site in a clear, well-organized manner. That book, my bestseller in the health niche, is currently in its second edition (and third revision.) 

In 2017, I wrote a brand new book which supplements my bestseller and answers over 200 questions of the type that readers and site visitors have been emailing me over the years. That book is Your Diabetes Questions Answered.

Please Read This Before Contacting Me

I'm getting along in years now and my joints aren't what they used to be, so I have to limit the amount of typing I do. That means I have to be very selective about the emails that I answer. So before you send me a request, please read these guidelines and honor them.

Since I'm not your doctor I can't answer specific questions about your medical condition or that of a family member. I never review products companies send me for free, so there's no point in emailing to ask me to review yours.

Before you email me with a question, make sure it can't be answered by using The Google site search, which is found by clicking on the Menu Bar "Search" tab.

 

My latest book, Your Diabetes Questions Answered gives the answers to over 200 questions including many not addressed on this website. Please check the Table of Contents to see if your question has already been answered there. I will no longer answer emails asking any of the questions listed there. I need to save my writing time for new projects.

Also, please do not ask me for a referral to a doctor or nutritionist or to help you with a diabetes-related lawsuit.

I do not run any ads on this website except, at times, those for my own books. So please don't contact me asking me to run your ad.

You can reach me at this email: jruhl9999-d12@yahoo.com

© 2018 Janet Ruhl. Reproduction of site contents without permission strictly prohibited