糖尿病預算

糖尿病是昂貴的。不會升高血糖的試紙、藥物和食物都需要花錢,但對我們很多人來說,支付這些必需品的錢變得很難找到。如果您發現自己陷入困境,這裡有一些想法可能會有所幫助。

便宜的試紙

如果您沒有保險,試紙可能會非常昂貴,而且每個月的成本都在惡化。儘管如此,如果使用得當,它們仍然可以成為您在避免失明、截肢和腎衰竭的鬥爭中最強大的工具——所有這些都與每天幾個小時保持在 140 毫克/分升以上的血糖有關。

您通常可以在網上找到有關品牌名稱條的優惠信息。亞馬遜設有多家提供試紙優惠的商家。從客戶的反饋來看,這些似乎是合法的,儘管您可能會收到距到期日還有幾個月的條。這不應該對它們的功能產生任何影響。

過去提供了幾種與 One Touch 儀表配合使用的非品牌條帶。起初它們是一個不錯的選擇,但隨著時間的推移,它們的質量惡化,FDA 對它們發出警告。

對於較便宜的血糖帶來說,更好的選擇是 Freestyle Neo 血糖儀和血糖帶,其價格通常是其他名牌價格的一半。它們是由一家信譽良好的公司製造的,我發現它們非常一致。 (這些是 FreeStyle Libre 閱讀器用來檢查傳感器讀數的相同條帶。)

不要總是假設亞馬遜以最便宜的價格購買它們。有時在線藥店會以更低的價格郵寄給您。

有些人在 eBay 上找到了很好的試紙交易。避免在非常熱的時候訂購條帶,因為坐在非常熱的卡車上可能會損壞它們。

在沃爾瑪出售的 Relion 品牌儀表和條比名牌條便宜得多。根據我的經驗,它們的讀數與實驗室值相差很遠,而且質量變得更糟,而不是多年來更好。如果您使用胰島素,您可能需要為名牌試紙多付一點錢。

不幸的是,儀表型號變化非常頻繁,您可能會在一個月內在網上看到推薦的通用儀表品牌可能會被質量更差或價格昂貴的新型號所取代,因為它們不是名牌儀表的良好替代品。這就是為什麼我不再推薦我以前推薦的藥店通用品牌條。

為了減少您使用的試紙數量,在測試之前先問問自己,“根據我將要看到的讀數,我將採取什麼行動? ”如果您不打算將測試結果用於對你的食物攝入量或藥物劑量進行特定的改變,不要測試。養成測試的習慣很容易,因為你好奇而去測試,而不是因為你看到的結果會促使你採取行動。

在這篇來自“2 型糖尿病,個人旅程”博客的文章中,您會找到關於可以用來充分利用每個試紙的策略的很好的討論。

預算測試

如果錢真的很緊張而您買不起試紙,您也許可以從測量尿液中葡萄糖的尿液試紙中提取有用的信息。這些以 50 個一包的形式出現,價格不應超過 10 美元。您可以使用剪刀將每個條帶剪成 3 或 4 條較細的條帶,而​​不會影響條帶的功能。這些試紙對您的有用程度取決於您個人的“腎葡萄糖閾值”。這是您開始在尿液中傾倒葡萄糖時的血糖水平。

這個水平有多高,因人而異。在一種極端情況下,有些人會在血糖略高於 140 毫克/分升(7.7 毫摩爾/升)時看到他們的尿液中有葡萄糖。另一方面,像我這樣的人只有在血糖超過 250 毫克/分升(13.8 毫摩爾/升)時才會看到尿液中的葡萄糖。很少有人會跌入這些極端。大多數人的血糖在短時間內超過 160 - 180 毫克/分升(8.9 - 10 毫摩爾/升)時,尿液中會溢出可檢測到的葡萄糖量。重要的是要了解高血糖轉化為尿液中的高葡萄糖需要時間。因此,尿液試紙上的高結果表明您的血糖在 2 或 3 小時前很高。

如果您有一些血糖試紙,而您的錢所剩無幾,最好購買一些尿液試紙,看看您是否可以確定您的腎葡萄糖閾值有多高。在血糖儀試紙上看到高值後兩小時,用試紙測試您的尿液。如果您的閾值不是太高,您也許可以使用尿液試紙來確認您正在避免危險的高潮。

許多在 1930 年代和 1940 年代患上 1 型糖尿病的人能夠在沒有獲得可靠檢測的情況下長期保持長期健康。如果您使用任何您能負擔得起的試紙來確定一定量的碳水化合物會使您的血糖升高多高,並嚴格避免進食超過使您的血糖超過您選擇的血糖目標的量,您也可以保護您的健康。

2 型糖尿病藥物

儘管醫生開出最新、最昂貴的糖尿病藥物的速度太快,但幾乎沒有證據表明這些新的昂貴藥物比作為仿製藥提供的舊藥物更有效。大多數藥房和超市以每張處方 4 美元的價格出售仿製藥,您可以負擔得起這些有效的糖尿病藥物。

對於大多數 2 型糖尿病患者來說,最好的藥物是二甲雙胍。普通二甲雙胍和二甲雙胍緩釋劑(緩釋劑型)在胃部更容易吸收,均作為仿製藥提供。一些通用品牌似乎比其他品牌更強,因此如果您對使用一種品牌獲得的結果不滿意,請讓藥劑師嘗試另一種,或者如果不可能,請將您的處方切換到另一家藥店分配不同的通用品牌。如果您詢問,藥劑師會告訴您他們配藥的品牌。

胰島素

如果您沒有健康保險,您會發現大多數醫生開出的模擬胰島素非常昂貴。其中包括 Lantus、Levemir、Tresiba、Fiasp、Humalog、Novolog 和 Apidra。

幸運的是,您可以使用更便宜的更舊的胰島素。這些廉價的胰島素在沃爾瑪以 Relion 品牌出售。 Relion R 是作用時間較短的普通人胰島素。 N 是 NPH,一種長效胰島素,如果每天注射數次,可以用作基礎胰島素,儘管它的作用比昂貴的基礎胰島素更難以預測。 (其他藥店可能會出售 NPH 和 R,但它們的售價要高得多。)

這些胰島素具有與類似物不同的活性曲線。閱讀伯恩斯坦博士的糖尿病解決方案,了解如何計算這些胰島素的劑量的完整說明。 R 胰島素在碳水化合物攝入量較低的情況下效果最佳。如果您非常謹慎地使用 NPH 並了解它確實有峰值,則可以將 NPH 用作基礎胰島素。

如果您無法使這些胰島素發揮作用,請讓您的醫生提交文件,以便通過幫助胰島素依賴者的困難計劃之一為您提供胰島素。如果他不能,請致電您所在地區最大的地區醫院,並要求與社會工作者討論如何註冊其中一個計劃。

援助計劃、免費診所和折扣卡

您可以在此網站上找到帶有申請表的製藥公司援助計劃列表,以及按郵政編碼排列的免費診所數據庫,以及無需註冊或收費的藥物折扣卡:

有需要的藥物

這是一個非營利組織,藥品折扣卡似乎是合法的。讓我知道你的經歷,無論好壞。使用您會在此頁面頂部的選項卡上找到的聯繫鏈接。

您可以在網上找到其他折扣卡,這些卡有時可以讓您在藥物或設備(如 FreeStyle Libre 閱讀器和傳感器或測試條)上獲得比零售支付更便宜的價格。 SinglecareGoodRx提供兩種這些,並且值得一試。

如果您的收入較低,這是另一個有用的資源:

PPARx.org

對血糖友好的食物

如果您一直在吃低碳水化合物飲食,您可能會開始依賴昂貴的肉類和新鮮蔬菜,並擔心無法以更便宜的價格控制血糖。這不是真的。

Crockpot 是一項值得的投資,因為您可以用它將堅硬、廉價的肉塊變成美味的燉菜。謹慎購物,只購買打折的肉類。您經常可以找到豬排和烤肉等肉類的優惠(最近我所在地區的豬排售價為每磅 2 美元。)通常,出售的質量更好的肉比人們認為的漢堡包或其他碎肉便宜得多便宜的票價。雞大腿和混合部分通常以非常便宜的價格出售。甚至雞胸肉也不時以每磅 2 美元的價格出售。新鮮地面商店品牌香腸也可能是一個不錯的、便宜的填充選擇。

冷凍蔬菜和新鮮蔬菜一樣有營養,可以買到更便宜的大尺寸蔬菜。

當您查看每磅的成本時,奶酪可能看起來很貴,但您只需吃幾盎司就可以獲得高質量的營養。奶酪也會不時打折,您可以在喜歡的商品打折時囤貨。

雞蛋仍然是一種很好的食品交易。用奶酪和/或冷凍蔬菜製成的煎蛋捲或肉餡煎蛋餅是低碳水化合物,對您非常有益。

如果您住在有農貿市場的地區,請看,當地可能有為滿足某些收入要求的人提供折扣甚至免費產品的計劃。

您可以全年從種子開始在盆中種植自己的蔬菜,這樣做的好處是可以確保它們不含危險的殺蟲劑和大腸桿菌。一個便宜的 LED 燈設置可以為您提供整個冬天在室內種植的綠色植物。

Diabetes on a Budget

 

Diabetes is expensive. Test strips, drugs, and food that doesn't raise your blood sugar all cost money, but for a lot of us, the money to pay for these necessities has become hard to find. If you are finding yourself in a crunch here are a few ideas that may help.

 

Bargain Test Strips

If you don't have insurance coverage, test strips can be obscenely expensive and the cost is getting worse every month. Still, used properly they can be the most powerful tool you have in the battle to avoid blindness, amputation, and kidney failure--all of which have been linked to blood sugars that stay above 140 mg/dl for a few hours each day.

 

You can often find deals on brand name strips online. Amazon features several merchants offering Test Strip Deals. From the customer feedback it appears that these are legitimate, though you may receive strips that are a few months from their expiration date. This should not make any difference in how they function.

 

There have been several off-brand strips offered in the past that worked with One Touch meters. At first they were a good buy, but over time their quailty deteriorated and the FDA issued warnings about them. 

A much better choice for less expensive strips is the Freestyle Neo blood sugar meter and strips which can often be found priced at half what the other name brands cost. They are made by a reputable company and I find them very consistent. (These are the same strips used by the FreeStyle Libre reader to check on the sensor readings.) 

Don't always assume that Amazon has them at the cheapest price. Sometimes online drug stores will mail order them to you for less. 

Some people have found good test strip deals on eBay. Avoid ordering strips when it is very hot, as they may be damaged by sitting in a very hot truck.

 

The Relion brand meters and strips sold at Walmart are much cheaper than the name brand strips. In my experience they can read very far from lab values, and quality has become worse, not better over the years.If you are using insulin, you might want to pay a bit extra for the name brand strips .

Unfortunately, meter models change very frequently, and generic meter brands that you may see recommended online one month may be replaced by new models that are of worse quality or so expensive than they don't make a good alternative to the name brand meters. This is why I no longer recommend the drug store generic brand strips I used to recommend.

 

To cut down on how many strips you use, make it a policy to ask yourself, before you test, "What action will I take based on the reading I am about to see?" If you do not plan to use your test result to make a specific change in your food intake or drug dose, don't test. It is easy to get into the habit of testing and to test because you are curious, rather than because the result you see will cause you to take action.

 

You'll find a good discussion of the strategies you can use to get the most out of each test strip you have on in this post from the "Type 2 Diabetes, A Personal Journey" blog.

 

Testing on a Budget

 

If money is really tight and you cannot afford test strips, you may be able to extract useful information from the urine test strips that measure glucose in urine. These come in packs of 50 and should not cost more than $10. You can use a scissors to cut each strip into 3 or 4 thinner strips without affecting the strip's function. How useful these strips will be for you depends on your own personal "renal threshold for glucose." This is the blood sugar level at which you start to dump glucose in your urine.

 

How high this level might be varies from person to person. At one extreme, there are people who will see glucose in their urine when their blood sugar is slightly over 140 mg/dl (7.7 mmol/L). At the other, there are people like me who only see glucose in their urine when their blood sugar goes over 250 mg/dl (13.8 mmol/L). Few people will fall at these extremes. Most people will spill a detectable amount of glucose in their urine when their blood sugar exceeds 160 - 180 mg/dl (8.9 - 10 mmol/l) for more than a short time. It is important to understand that it takes time for high blood sugars to translate into high glucose in urine. So a high result on a urine test strip tells you that your blood sugar was high 2 or 3 hours before.

 

If you have some blood sugar test strips and your money is running low, it might be a good idea to buy some urine test strips and to see if you can determine how high your renal threshold for glucose is. Test your urine with a strip two hours after you see a high value on your blood sugar meter test strip. If your threshold is not too high, you may be able to use the urine test strips to confirm that you are avoiding dangerous highs.

 

Many people who developed Type 1 diabetes in the 1930s and 1940s were able to maintain their long term health long term without access to reliable testing. If you use whatever strips you can afford to determine how high a set amount of carbohydrate raises your blood sugar, and scrupulously avoid eating more than the amount that pushes your blood sugar over your chosen blood sugar targets, you can preserve your health too.

 

Type 2 Diabetes Drugs

 

Though doctors are much too quick to prescribe the newest, most expensive diabetes drugs there is little evidence that these new expensive drugs are any more effective than the older drugs that are available as generics. With most pharmacies and supermarkets selling generic drugs for $4 a prescription, you can afford these effective diabetes drugs.

 

The best drug for most people with Type 2 diabetes is Metformin. Plain Metformin and Metformin ER, the extended release form that is easier on the stomach, are both available as generics. Some generic brands appear to be stronger than others, so if you aren't happy with the results you are getting with one brand, ask the pharmacist to try another, or if that isn't a possibility, switch your prescription to another pharmacy that dispenses a different generic brand. The pharmacist will tell you which brand they dispense if you ask.

 

Insulin

 

If you do not have health insurance coverage you will find the analog insulins most doctors prescribe obscenely expensive. These include Lantus, Levemir, Tresiba, Fiasp, Humalog, Novolog and Apidra.

 

Fortunately there are older, insulins that are much cheaper which you can use instead. These cheap insulins are sold at Wal-mart under the Relion brand names. Relion R is shorter acting Regular Human Insulin. N is NPH, a longer acting insulin which can be used as a basal if injected several times a day, though it is more unpredictable in its action than the expensive basal insulins. (Other pharmacies may sell NPH and R but they sell them at a much higher price.)

 

These insulins have different activity curves than do the analogs. Read Dr. Bernstein's Diabetes Solution for complete instructions on how to figure your doses with these insulins. The R insulin works best with a lower carbohydrate intake. NPH can be made to act as a basal insulin if you use it very cautiously and understand that it does have a peak.

 

If you cannot make these insulins work, ask your doctor to file the paperwork to get you insulin via one of the hardship programs that help people who are insulin dependent. If he can't, call the largest regional hospital in your area and ask to speak to a social worker about how to sign up for one of these programs.

 
Assistance Programs, Free Clinics and Discount Card

 

You will find a list of drug company assistance programs with application forms, as well as a database of free clinics arranged by zip code, and a drug discount card requiring no sign-up or fees at this site:

 

NeedyMeds

 

This is a nonprofit and the drug discount card appears to be legitimate. Let me know of your experiences, good or bad with it. Use the contact link you'll find on a tab at the top of this page.

 

You can find other discount cards available online that can sometimes get you a cheaper price on a drug or device like a FreeStyle Libre reader and sensors or teststrips than what you would if you were paying retail. Singlecare and GoodRx offer two of these and are worth checking out.

 

Here is another useful resource if you are low income:

 

PPARx.org

 

Blood Sugar-Friendly Food

 

If you have been eating a low(er) carb diet you may have come to rely on expensive meats and fresh vegetables and fear that it is not possible to control your blood sugar on cheaper fare. This is not true.

 

A crockpot is a worthwhile investment as you can use it to turn tough, cheap cuts of meat into delicious stews. Shop carefully and only buy meat on sale. You can often find good deals on meats like pork chops and roasts (pork chops have been selling for $2 a lb in my region recently.) Often the better quality meat on sale is much cheaper than hamburger or other ground meat which people think of as bargain fare. Chicken thighs and mixed parts are often on sale at very cheap prices. Even chicken breast goes on sale from time to time at $2 a lb. Fresh ground store brand sausage may also be a good, cheap, filling choice.

 

Frozen vegetables are as nutritious as fresh and can be bought in cheaper larger sizes.

 

Cheese may seems expensive when you look at the per pound cost, but you can get high quality nutrition from eating only a few ounces. Cheese, too, goes on sale from time to time and you can stock up when your favorites are on sale.

 

Eggs continue to be a great food bargain. Omelets or fritattas made with cheese and/or frozen veggies are low carb and very good for you.

 

If you live in an area with farmers' markets, look, there may be local programs that offer discounts or even free produce for people who meet certain income requirements.

 

You can grow your own greens in a pot from seed year round which has the advantage of assuring you that they are free of dangerous pesticides and e coli bacteria. An inexpensive LED light set up can provide you with greens grown indoors throughout the winter.

© 2018 Janet Ruhl. Reproduction of site contents without permission strictly prohibited