視網膜病變:糖尿病性失明

視網膜病變意味著“病態的視網膜”,它是最可怕的典型糖尿病並發症之一。視網膜病變發生的情況是,隨著持續暴露於高血糖,視網膜中的微小血管開始以無序和失控的方式生長,視網膜是神經將光圖像傳輸到大腦的眼睛部分。

與健康血管不同,這些糖尿病血管壁薄弱,最終會破裂,將血液釋放到眼睛中。不僅如此,如果不加以治療,這些過度生長的血管最終會破壞視網膜將圖像傳輸到大腦的能力,導致永久性失明。

醫生使用多種術語來指稱視網膜病變。一種是“增殖性視網膜病變”,指的是微小血管增殖的方式。另一個是“黃斑水腫”,指的是視網膜部分的腫脹,使我們能夠看到中央視力。 Actos(吡格列酮)和文迪雅(羅格列酮)已被發現會導致黃斑水腫增加,這也是它們可能是糖尿病患者最後服用的藥物的主要原因。

醫生目前通過使用激光來治療視網膜病變,以關閉眼睛中的出血或腫脹的血管。這有助於保留視力,但不能恢復已喪失的視力。隨著時間的推移,如果血糖持續高 -200 毫克/分升(11 毫摩爾/升)或更高 - 儘管進行了這種治療,視力仍會惡化。

還發現注射阿瓦斯汀(貝伐珠單抗)可以改善少數但大量使用它的人的視網膜病變,並在更多人中延緩其進展。詳情請點擊此處

可靠逆轉視網膜病變(不需要在眼球上紮針)的唯一方法是將血糖降至真正正常的水平——而不是標記為“對糖尿病患者有益”的水平。

這是因為最近的研究發現,每 12 名被診斷患有糖尿病前期的人中,就有 1 人的眼睛發生視網膜病變,因此,僅僅讓您的血糖達到大多數醫生為糖尿病患者建議的中等水平(完全在糖尿病前期範圍內)並不是足夠的。

DPPT 數據和糖尿病前期視網膜病變

您可以在此處閱讀更多關於將視網膜病變與糖尿病前期血糖水平聯繫起來的證據:將血糖水平與器官損傷聯繫起來的研究

您可以在此處了解如何將血糖降至安全水平:如何降低血糖

獲得更好的控制有時會暫時惡化視網膜病變

如果您長期處於高血糖狀態,降低血糖最初可能會使視網膜病變惡化,而不是好轉。但這並不意味著它不值得做。隨著時間的推移,包括具有里程碑意義的 DCCT 研究在內的許多研究發現,那些在降低血糖後經歷視網膜病變惡化的人比沒有降低血糖的人晚幾年視力更好。您的眼睛中會出現非常高的高血糖和化學物質,以應對這些高糖,這不是通過糾正它們引起的。

這種惡化相當罕見,幾乎總是發生在使用胰島素而不是飲食來降低血糖的人身上。

沒有證據表明更緩慢地降低血糖可以避免這種惡化。

這是一篇出色的評論,討論了有關該主題的已發表研究:

糖尿病視網膜病變Donald S. Fong,醫學博士,等。糖尿病護理 27:2540-2553, 2004

從那篇文章:

由於強化治療而出現早期惡化的患者與沒有早期惡化的常規組的患者相似或具有更好的結果。分析並未表明隨著血糖水平的逐漸降低而減少早期惡化。

有一件事是肯定的,儘管暫時惡化可能很麻煩,但如果您不降低血糖,您的視力的最終結果將變得更糟。

視力模糊不是視網膜病變的徵兆

在診斷時,許多 2 型糖尿病患者報告說,他們長期以來一直存在視力模糊的問題。當他們降低血糖時,許多人會突然發現他們的眼鏡似乎也停止工作了。

這種視覺問題不是由視網膜病變引起的。發生這種情況是因為血糖濃度的變化會改變晶狀體和眼液中糖的濃度,這會改變您的視力,就像您改變了眼鏡處方一樣。當您年紀大到需要雙焦點眼鏡時,這種對高血糖的敏感性尤其明顯。

在您開始出現眼部出血之前,不會出現導致失明的視網膜病變的警告症狀,儘管眼科醫生可以在血管破裂之前很久就看到視網膜血管異常生長的早期跡象。這就是為什麼如果您被診斷出患有糖尿病,您應該每年去看眼科醫生,而不是驗光師,進行全面的散瞳眼科檢查。

如果您的視力隨著血糖變化而變化,請務必在讓驗光師為您開鏡片之前測量您的血糖,並確保您的血糖在您的目標範圍內,以便您的眼鏡繼續正常工作。

許多人發現在診斷出糖尿病後不要立即配戴新眼鏡是個好主意。等到您將他們的血糖降低到正常範圍時,因為當您降低血糖時,血糖高時開的眼鏡將不再正確矯正視力。

您的視網膜會告訴您其他血管的狀況。

視網膜是唯一可以看到血管的地方,它們的健康狀況會告訴您很多關於隱藏的心血管系統其他部分的健康狀況。還發現視網膜病變的存在和嚴重程度也可以讓您深入了解您患阿爾茨海默氏症的機會。

當您去看眼科醫生時(如果可能,您應該去看眼科醫生,而不是驗光師),不要只相信他的保證,即您的眼睛“很好”。堅持要回答這個問題,“你看到任何早期視網膜病變的跡象。”如果您這樣做了,請要求拍攝視網膜照片以記錄其程度,因為這將使您能夠進一步了解您在阻止或逆轉損害方面所做的努力。

https://newsroom.uw.edu/news/eye-conditions-provide-new-lens-screening-alzheimer's

Retinopathy: Diabetic Blindness

 

Retinopathy means "sick retina" and it is among the most terrifying of the classic diabetic complications. What happens in retinopathy is that, with continual exposure to high blood sugars, tiny blood vessels start to grow in a disordered and out of control fashion in the retina--the part of the eye where nerves transmit light images to the brain.

 

Unlike healthy vessels, these diabetic blood vessels have weak walls, and eventually they burst, releasing blood into the eye. Not only that, but if they are left untreated, these overgrown vessels eventually destroy the retina's ability to transmit images to the brain, resulting in permanent blindness.

 

There are various terms doctors use to refer to retinopathy. One is "proliferative retinopathy" referring to the way that the tiny blood vessels proliferate. Another is "macular edema" referring to swelling in the part of the retina that gives us central vision. Actos (pioglitizone) and Avandia (rosiglitazone) have been found to cause an increase in macular edema which is a major reason they are probably the last drug anyone with diabetes should be taking.

Doctors currently treat retinopathy by using lasers to zap shut bleeding or swollen blood vessels in the eye. This helps retain vision, though it cannot restore vision that has been lost. Over time if blood sugars continue to be high--200 mg/dl (11 mmol/l) or more-- vision will deteriorate despite with this treatment.

Injections of Avastin (bevacizumab) have also been found to improve  retinopathy in a small but significant number of those who used it and to retard its progression in more.  Details HERE.

The only way to reliably reverse retinopathy (which does not involve sticking needles in your eyeballs) is to get blood sugars down to truly normal levels--not the levels flagged as "good for diabetics." 

 

That is because recent research has found retinopathic changes happening in the eyes of 1 out of ever 12 people diagnosed with prediabetes, so just getting your blood sugars to the mediocre levels most doctors suggest for people with diabetes (well within the prediabetic range) is not enough.

 

DPPT Data and Pre-Diabetic Retinopathy

 

You can read more about the evidence that links retinopathy with prediabetic blood sugar levels here: Research Connecting Blood Sugar Level with Organ Damage

 

You can learn how to bring your blood sugar down to a safe level here: How to Lower Your Blood Sugar.

 

Getting Better Control Occasionally Will Temporarily Worsen Retinopathy

 

If you have been running very high blood sugars for a long time, lowering your blood sugars may initially make retinopathy worse, not better. But this does not mean it isn't worth doing. Over time, many studies including the landmark DCCT study have found that those people who experienced worsened retinopathy after lowering their blood sugars ended up with better vision years later than those who did not lower their blood sugar.The damage is done by things that occur while you have the very high high blood sugars and chemicals that develop in your eye in response to these high sugars, it is not caused by correcting them.

 

This worsening, which is fairly rare, almost always happens to people who are using insulin to lower blood sugar, not diet.

 

There is no evidence that lowering blood sugars more slowly avoids this kind of worsening.

 

Here's an excellent review that discusses the published research on this subject:

 

Diabetic Retinopathy Donald S. Fong, MD, et al. Diabetes Care 27:2540-2553, 2004

 

From that article:

 

Patients who developed early worsening as a result of the intensive treatment were similar to or had more favorable outcomes than those in the conventional group who did not have early worsening. Analysis did not suggest reduction of early worsening with more gradual reduction of glycemia.

 

One thing is certain, as troublesome as temporary worsening might be, if you don't lower your blood sugar, the end results for your vision will much, much worse.

 

Blurry Vision is NOT a Sign of Retinopathy
 

On diagnosis many people with Type 2 diabetes report that they have long had problems with blurry vision that comes and goes. When they lower their blood sugar, many will suddenly find that their glasses seem to have stopped working, too.

 

This kind of visual problem is not caused by retinopathy. It happens because changing blood sugar concentrations change the concentration of sugar in your lens and in the fluids of your eye and this changes your vision, just as if you had changed an eyeglass prescription. This sensitivity to high blood sugars is especially noticeable when you are old enough to need bifocals.

 

There are no warning symptoms of the kind of retinopathy that causes blindness until you start experiencing eye bleeds, though an ophthalmologist can see early signs of abnormal blood vessel growth in your retina long before the vessels rupture. This is why if you are diagnosed with diabetes you should see an ophthalmologist, not an optometrist, every year for a full dilated eye exam.

 

If you experience vision changes with blood sugar changes, be sure to measure your blood sugar before you get the optometrist to prescribe lenses for you and make sure your blood sugar is in your target range so that your glasses will continue to work well.

 

Many people have found it a good idea NOT to get new glasses right after a diabetes diagnosis. Wait until you've lowered their blood sugars to the normal range because glasses prescribed when blood sugars are high are running high will no longer correct vision properly when you have lowered your blood sugar.

Your Retinas Tell You how the Rest of Your Blood Vessels Are Faring.

The retina is the only place where your blood vessels are visible, and their health tells you a lot about the health of the rest of your hidden cardiovascular system. It has also been found that the presence and severity of retinopahty can give insight into your your chances of developing Alzheimers too.  

 

When you see an ophthalmologist (and you should see one, rather than an optometrist, if possible) don't just take his assurances that your eyes are "fine." Insist on getting an answer to the question, "Do you see any signs of early retinopathy."  If you do, ask to have retinal photos taken to document the extent of it, as this will make it possible going forward to learn how well your efforts are working at stopping or reversing the damage. 

https://newsroom.uw.edu/news/eye-conditions-provide-new-lens-screening-alzheimer’s

© 2018 Janet Ruhl. Reproduction of site contents without permission strictly prohibited