使用處方藥保持安全

已知的藥物副作用真的會傷害你

在您服用任何新藥之前,請下載該藥的“處方信息”。

藥物的“處方信息”是一份法律文件,必須得到 FDA 的批准。它也必須保持最新。它是您在有關該藥物的文章中看到的“標籤”。不幸的是,幾年前,製藥公司讓 FDA 取消了消費者在藥房購買藥物時向消費者提供此信息副本的要求,許多人甚至不知道存在這份重要文件。

處方信息將列出藥物所有已知的嚴重副作用。雖然 FDA 只是向一家沒有披露嚴重藥物反應或副作用的公司打了一記耳光,但它確實讓製藥公司在處方信息中提到了副作用或嚴重反應。

例如,文迪雅(羅格列酮)處方信息將心力衰竭列為多年關注的問題,後來又增加了黃斑水腫(視網膜區域腫脹,可導致失明),儘管公眾在他們幾年後才意識到這些嚴重問題出現在標籤上。

截至 2018 年,Invokana 有一個嚴重的“黑匣子”警告,告訴患者該藥物會增加下肢截肢的風險。 Victoza 有一個黑框警告說它可能會導致甲狀腺癌。

較少危及生命的副作用深埋在處方信息中,但有些可能會改變生活。例如,Januvia 會導致嚴重的關節疼痛,當人們停藥時不會消失,還會出現嚴重的皮疹。這些發生是因為它影響免疫系統的方式。

賴諾普利等 ACE 抑製劑降壓藥可引起關節疼痛和持續咳嗽。

不幸的是,製藥公司以一種不區分嚴重且在某些情況下不可逆轉的副作用和微不足道的甚至可能不是由藥物引起的副作用的方式來呈現這些副作用。

很少有醫生有時間跟上標籤的變化,所以他們往往不知道與大量銷售的流行藥物有關的嚴重副作用。

確保您了解處方信息。

如果您的醫學知識不足以理解這些措辭,請不要害羞地打電話給您的醫生並請他為您解釋。這些信息可能會讓您的醫生和您感到驚訝。

當我向醫生詢問處方信息中的信息(包括黑框警告)時,他們通常不知道那裡有這些信息。可悲的是,他們有時告訴我,我所經歷的已知副作用沒什麼好擔心的,事實上,它給我留下了永久性症狀,包括我已經忍受了 21 年的藥物引起的耳鳴年。

如果藥物會引起嚴重的副作用,請詢問您的醫生是否有測試可以及早發現這些副作用以防止永久性損害,並確保您的醫生進行這些測試。

即使在這裡,也有人擔心製藥公司可能已經告訴您的醫生,某些測試可以保證安全,但事實並非如此。

例如,有些藥物會傷害腎臟或肝臟,當您的腎臟或肝臟功能測試恢復異常時,損害已經造成,您可能無法康復。

例如,再普樂(Zyprexa)是一種抗精神病藥,它的處方外處方是給那些問題比其批准的精神分裂症輕得多的人開的。它會導致永久性糖尿病,但當服用它的人血糖出現異常時,他們已經遭受了不可逆轉的傷害。

由於有關危險藥物的法律訴訟,我們了解到銷售這些危險藥物的製藥公司甚至向您的醫生提供保險,以支付您在遭受某種永久性損害後起訴他的索賠,以作為誘使他獲得繼續開出危險的藥物,就像 Vioxx 和 Zyprexa 一樣,所以你不能相信你的醫生 100% 的保證藥物是安全的。銷售危險脊柱植入物的設備公司也做了同樣的事情。

可以在此處找到有關製藥公司如何通過提供責任保險來銷售已知危險藥物的文檔

是否有更古老、更易於理解的更安全藥物?

在您服用一種為製造商賺取數十億美元的非常昂貴的新藥之前,先問問是否有一種更老的、更好理解的藥物或其他治療策略,如運動和飲食,可以用來代替新藥。

就文迪雅而言,飲食和運動為糖尿病和糖尿病前期患者提供了比藥物更好的結果。替代藥物或策略通常也便宜得多。與 Jardiance 或 Invokana 相比,減少碳水化合物會給您帶來更好的血糖並降低出現並發症的風險。

如果醫生聲稱一種新藥有其他藥物沒有的真正重要的作用,這就是您應該服用它的原因,請調查該聲明所依據的數據。

許多醣尿病患者被告知 Avandia 會使他們的 β 細胞恢復活力,這就是為什麼即使他們體重增加了數十磅並像蜱蟲一樣腫脹,他們也應該服用它。事實證明,這是基於最薄弱的證據的一種說法——其中大部分來自對另一種不再上市的更危險藥物的研究——但被一項更大的研究完全反駁了,夢想研究.

萬絡在出售時承諾不會導致其他非甾體抗炎藥引起的胃出血,這也是錯誤的。 (由於萬絡的胃出血,我媽媽最終住進了急診室。)最終數據顯示,萬絡和相關的昂貴、危險的新藥並不比布洛芬更有效。

藥物有益作用的大部分證據來自囓齒動物研究,因此每個患有糖尿病的人都必須記住的一個事實是:囓齒動物的胰腺功能與人類非常不同,而且許多藥物對囓齒動物的作用在人類身上沒有體現出來。

所有這一切聽起來像是很多工作,而且確實如此。但是由於您的醫生太忙而無法這樣做,您將不得不這樣做。如果您服用有毒藥物,您的身體將為此付出代價。

Stay Safe with Prescription Drugs

 

Known Drug Side Effects Can Really Harm You

Before you take ANY new drug, download the "Prescribing Information" for that drug.

 

The "Prescribing Information" for a drug is a legal document which must be approved by the FDA. It also has to be kept up-to-date. It is the "label" you see mentioned in articles about the drug. Unfortunately, years ago the drug companies got the FDA to remove the requirement that a copy of this information be given to consumers when they purchased the drug at a pharmacy, and many people do not even know that this important document exists.

 

The Prescribing Information will list all the known serious side effects of a drug. While the FDA merely issues a slap on the wrist to a company that has not disclosed a serious drug reaction or side effect, it does make the drug company mention the side effect or serious reaction in the Prescribing Information.

For example, the Avandia (rosiglitazone) Prescribing information listed heart failure as a concern for years and it later it added macular edema (swelling in the retinal area that can cause blindness,) though the public only became aware of these serious concerns years after they appeared on the label. 

As of 2018,  Invokana has a serious "Black Box" warning telling patients that the drug raises the risk of lower limb amputations. Victoza has a black box warning saying it may cause thyroid cancers. 

Less life-threatening side effects are buried deep in the prescribing information, but some can be life changing. Januvia, for example, can cause severe joint pain that doesn't go away when people stop the drug as well as severe rashes. These occur because of the way it affects the immune system. 

ACE inhbitor blood pressure medicines like lisinopril can cause painful joints and a perpetual cough. 

 

Unfortunately, the drug companies present these side effects in a way that doesn't discriminate between those that are serious and in some cases irreversible, and those that are trivial and may not even be caused by the drug. 
 

Few doctors have the time to keep up with label changes, so often they are unaware of serious side effects that have been linked to heavily marketed, popular drugs.

Make sure you understand the Prescribing Information.

 

If your medical knowledge isn't good enough to understand the wording, do not be shy about calling up your doctor and asking him to interpret it to you. The information may be as big a surprise to your doctor as it is to you.

 

When I have asked doctors about information in the Prescribing Information, including black box warnings, they have often not known it was there. Sadly, they have sometimes told me that the known side effect I was experiencing was nothing to worry about when, in fact, it was and left me with permanent symptoms, including a drug-induced ringing in my ears that I have lived with for 21 years. 

If a drug can cause serious side effects, ask your doctor whether there is testing that can spot these side effects early enough to prevent permanent damage and make sure your doctor does those tests.

Even here, there is the concern that the drug company may have told your doctor that certain tests can guarantee safety when this is not true.

 

For example, with some drugs that harm the kidney or liver, by the time your kidney or liver function tests come back abnormal, the damage has already been done and you might not recover.

For example, Zyprexa was an antipsychotic that was prescribed off label to people with far milder problems than the schizophrenia it was approved for. It caused permanent diabetes, but by the time a person taking it had their blood sugar became abnormal, they had sustained irreversible damage.

As a result of law suits about dangerous drugs, we have learned that the drug companies selling these dangerous drugs went so far as to offer insurance to your doctor to cover claims if you sue him after experiencing kind of permanent damage as an incentive to get him to keep prescribing a dangerous drug, as was done with both Vioxx and Zyprexa,  so you can't trust your doctor's assurances 100% that a drug is safe. Device companies selling dangerous spinal implants have done the same thing. 

Documentation of how drug companies market known dangerous drugs by offering liability insurance can be found HERE

 

Is There an Older, Better Understood Safer Drug Available? 

Before you take a very expensive newer drug that is earning its maker billions, ask if there is an older, better understood drug or other healing strategy, like exercise and diet, that could be used instead of the newer drug.

 

In the case of Avandia, diet and exercise provided much better outcomes for people with diabetes and prediabetes than did the drug. The alternative drugs or strategies are usually much cheaper, too. Cutting carbs will give you much better blood sugars and improve your risk for complications far better than does Jardiance or Invokana. 

If a doctor makes a claim that a new drug does something really important no other drug does and that is why you should take it, investigate the data on which that claim rests.

 

Many people with diabetes were told that Avandia would rejuvenate their beta cells, and that was why they should take it even if they were gaining tens of pounds and swelling up like ticks. This turns out to have been a claim based on the most flimsy of evidence--much of it derived from the study of another, more dangerous drug no longer on the market--that was completely disproved by a larger, study, the DREAM study.

 

Vioxx was sold with the promise that it didn't cause the stomach bleeding other NSAIDS cause, which was also false. (My mom ended up in the ER thanks to stomach bleeding from Vioxx.) Eventually the data showed that Vioxx and related expensive, dangerous, new drugs are no more effective than Ibuprofen.

 

Much of the evidence for drugs' beneficial effects comes from rodent research, so one fact everyone with diabetes must memorize is this: Rodents have very different pancreas function from humans and many drugs have effects on rodents that they do not show in humans.
 

All this sounds like a lot of work, and it is. But since your doctor is too busy to do it, you will have to. It is YOUR body that will pay the price if you take a toxic drug.

© 2018 Janet Ruhl. Reproduction of site contents without permission strictly prohibited